Planning Portal

Information Leaflet 5: Environmental Impact Assessment
What Types of Development are Subject to EIA as Part of the Planning Procedures?

EIA development is defined as either:
  • "Schedule 1 development", for which an Environment Statement is required in every case. For example crude oil refineries; aerodromes with a runway length of 2,100 metres or more;waste disposal installations for the incineration, chemical treatment, or landfill of hazardous waste; gas pipelines of more than 800mm in diameter and 40 kilometres in length; intensive livestock installations with places for 900 sows, 3,000 pigs, 85,000 broilers or 60,000 hens; or
  • "Schedule 2 development" for which EIA is required only if the project is likely to give rise to significant environmental effects. These are developments which include intensive fish farms; large pig and poultry units (unless in Schedule 1); mineral extraction; energy producing installations such as wind farms and hydroelectric installations; metal processing; chemical, food, textile, rubber and paper industries; infrastruature projects; tourist development and waste disposal. Projects of a type listed in Schedule 2 which are not in a sensitive area and are below the threshold in Column 2 of that Schedule do not require EIA.
However, where any part of the proposed development is in a sensitive area, or any threshold in Column 2 of that Schedule is exceeded or met, EIA may be required. The Department will make a determination, on the need or not for EIA - this process is referred to as "screening". It will also advise on the content of the ES, on request - referred to as "scoping".
Changes and Extensions to existing development
Following the Baker ruling in the High Court of Justice, the Courts have made it clear that the change or extension should not be considered in isolation.  The 2012 EIA Regulations apply the applicable thresholds to the development as changed or extended.
Previous Next
Get Adobe Reader software (link opens in a new browser window)