Planning Portal

PPS 6: Planning, Archaeology and The Built Heritage
World Heritage Sites

2.9 The World Heritage Convention, adopted by UNESCO in 1972, was ratified by the United Kingdom in 1984. It provides for the identification, protection, conservation and presentation of cultural and natural sites of outstanding universal value and established a World Heritage List under the management of an inter-governmental World Heritage Committee. Individual governments are responsible for the nomination of sites for inclusion on the List, and their subsequent protection and monitoring if selected.
2.10 At present there is only one World Heritage Site in Northern Ireland, the Giant’s Causeway, based on its unique cultural heritage and natural and geological interest. A framework for the sustainable development of the Causeway area is currently being prepared by the Department of Economic Development and seeks to involve all those agencies and bodies with an interest in the management and protection of the area for future generations.
2.11 The Government is currently reviewing the United Kingdom’s tentative list of future nominations for World Heritage Site status for the period up to 2007 and in a recent consultation paper4 the following recommendations for Northern Ireland were included for consideration:
  • Mount Stewart, Co Down
  • Navan and Armagh; and
  • The Walled City of Londonderry.
2.12 Development plans will identify World Heritage Sites and their settings and will normally include local policies or proposals to safeguard such areas.
4 UNESCO World Heritage Sites Opens link in a new browser window, A Consultation Paper on a New UK Tentative List of Future Nominations, Department for Culture, Media and Sport, 1998.
Previous Next
Get Adobe Reader software (link opens in a new browser window)