Planning Portal

Sam Foster Announces New Appointments To Historic Buildings Council

Published on Wed, 31 Jan 2001
Mr Sam Foster MLA, Minister of the Environment, today announced details of appointments to the Historic Buildings Council.
The Council is a statutory body, which advises the Department of the Environment on matters relating to the preservation of listed buildings and the designation of conservation areas.
Dr Philip Mowat has been appointed as Chairman. Dr Mowat is Head of the Curatorial Department of the Ulster/American Folk Park in Omagh. He has a wide experience in rural vernacular architecture and tourism.
Welcoming the commitment of Historic Buildings Council members, Mr Foster said: "Effective protection of our built heritage is an important part of the Government's environmental policy. The advice of the Council will be most valuable and I am grateful to them for their willingness to give their time and talents for this purpose. I am delighted also that Philip Mowat has agreed to lead the Council during the next 3 years."
The following have been appointed as members:
  • Ms Rachel Bevan: Owner of 'Rachel Bevan Architects' and has undertaken projects in a number of conservation areas. Also a member of the Northern Ireland Building Regulations Advisory Committee since 1996 (an unpaid appointment).
  • Mrs Deirdre Brown: Retired Head of Education with Ulster Folk and Transport Museum. Former history teacher. Lay panel member of Fair Employment Tribunal (which attracts £135 per day) and Member of Board of Visitors, HMP Maghaberry (an unpaid appointment).
  • Mrs Harriet Devlin: Built Heritage Officer with the Mourne Heritage Trust, Former Buildings at Risk Officer with the Ulster Architectural Heritage Society.
  • Miss Margaret Gallagher: Manager of Learning Unlimited with the Belcoo and District Historical Society. Member of the Heritage Lottery Fund - Northern Ireland Committee. Former Member of the Historic Monuments Council. Well known in Fermanagh local historical circles and active in community development.
  • Mr Anthony Griffith: Member of the National Trust for Northern Ireland Regional Committee since 1992, member of the Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside until 1999. Former Director of Geological Survey in Northern Ireland. Landowner and Estate Manager recognised for his efforts in farm conservation.
  • Dr Fred Hamond: Self-employed trader specialising in Industrial Archaeology. Director of Carrickfergus Gasworks. Committee member of Industrial Heritage Association Ireland.
  • Mr Ian Hill: Well known Author, Journalist, Art Critic and Travel Writer. Former Director of Public Relations for the Northern Ireland Tourist Board. Board member of the Cathedral Quarter Arts Festival and Ulster Theatre Company.
  • Mr Richard P Blakiston Houston: Member of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors since 1972. His company is involved in the management of several estates, having between some 50 listed buildings or structures. Member of Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside 1990-1997. Commissioner of Foyle Carlingford Lough and Irish Lights Commission. (Reappointed for a further term).
  • Mr Annesley Malley: Surveyor with vast heritage interests and local historical society interests. He is also a member of the Historic Monuments Council and of the Lower Bann Advisory Committee (both of which are unpaid appointments). Member of Heritage Lottery Fund - Northern Ireland Committee. (Reappointed for a further term).
  • Ms Deirdre McDermott: Town planner and architect, now working in Dublin, with extensive background in both the British Isles and abroad; former tutor in Built Resource Studies at Oxford Brookes University; active involvement in the area of vernacular architecture. (Reappointed for a further term).
  • Mr Ian McQuiston: Former Director of the National Trust in Northern Ireland. Over 30 years experience in environmental conservation, within and without the public sector. Also a member of the Historic Monuments Council.
  • Mr Francis Robinson: Chartered Structural Engineer and partner in Kirk McClure Morton; wide experience in working with historic buildings and the rebuilding of railway bridges; structural engineering advisor to the National Trust. (Reappointed for a further term).
  • Mr Wesley Stewart: Former Chief Executive of the Planning Service, with vast experience in conservation areas and planning issues.
  • Mr Derek Young: Field Sales Manager, Alliance and Leicester. Founding member of the Railway Preservation Society of Ireland.
With the exception of Mr Richard P Blakiston Houston, none of these appointees has undertaken any political activity in the past 5 years.
With the exception of Ms Rachel Bevan, Mrs Deirdre Brown, Mr Annesley Malley and Mr Ian McQuiston, none of these appointees hold any other public appointment.
The members of the Council, including the Chairman receive no salary but are entitled to travelling and out-of-pocket expenses in line with standard Civil Service mileage and subsistence rates.

Notes for Editors

  1. The Historic Buildings Council is appointed under the terms of the Planning (Northern Ireland) Order 1991 to advise the Department on matters relating to the listing of buildings and the designation of Conservation Areas.
  2. For further information please contact Philip Maguire or Paddy Murphy, DOE Press Office, Tel 028 9054 0003.
Get Adobe Reader software (link opens in a new browser window)